Anaesthesiology Department

Department of Anesthesiology at SCTIMST has been an integral part of the Institute from its very origin. It has contributed immensely to the growth of the Institute and helped it to attain the present status of an Institute of excellence. It is committed to excellence in anesthesia and perioperative care, educational activities, faculty development and cutting edge research. The Department commenced its journey under the leadership of Professor Dr Majumder. The residency training programs were started by Professor Dr K. Mohandas.

The Department of Anesthesiology has 2 functional divisions;
1) Cardiothoracic & Vascular Anaesthesiology
2) Neuroanaesthesiology

Both the divisions are equipped with latest technology devices for patient care, which include modern anesthesia machines, gadgets for managing difficult airway, vital parameter monitors, ventilators, transesophageal echocardiography machines and many others. The strength of the department lies in its strong team comprising of experienced faculty members, senior residents, scientific assistants and efficient paramedical staff. The teaching program is an academic feast of a variety of sessions, including seminars, symposia, journal clubs, panel discussions, clinical case presentations, and lectures, apart from specific topic discussions pertaining to Cardiothoracic and Vascular anesthesia as well as Neuroanaesthesia. Every Saturday is dedicated exclusively to academic activities!